The Land Project

2

Help me create an eco-friendly artist/writer's retreat!

The Dream

For years and years, I’ve had a dream; to be a writer, to tend a bit of earth, to share sacred space with other artists, to sing around a fire.

An artist/writer’s retreat, a place where we get off screens after dark, and gather to be together and share. A place to grow old and happy and calm.

I put the dream down for a while, gave it space to change, to become something else, but it is back now, tapping at the glass with black wings, knowing eyes, and a message: It’s time to build the thing.

Picture some possibilities with me

A farmhouse with an organic garden and chickens walking around. 

A barn with a couple of horses and children who come and ride and feed them.

A big fire pit, and flannel blankets, hot tea or cocoa.

Tiny eco-homes scattered around the 20+ acres.

We write or make art during the day and come together to sing and tell stories each night.

Everyone walks back to their own space with lanterns and goes to bed early.

It’s a safe place for people to recover (from whatever it is they need to recover from) in community.

We take woodland portraits and I make huge art prints and hang them in the main house.

There’s a gallery show and poetry reading at the end of each retreat - we share our work and cry. 

People leave changed, they leave knowing they’ll be back.  The place is one of ritual and regular return.   

The Plan

This project will take a while, and finding and purchasing land is just the first step of many to get it up and running. But step-by-step is the only way!

Step 1:

Find 20-30 acres of land within 2 hours of Boston (likely Southern Vermont or Western Massachusetts) - My research shows that untended land is running about $100k in these areas. My father left me $38K when he died that I have put away for this specific purpose (he was an organic farmer and I know he would love this project). Which leaves me about $62K to raise in order to make the purchase without needing a mortgage (this is necessary for many reasons).

For the next year (2024-25), all proceeds from my writing will be going toward the purchase of land for this project. If you want to be a part of it, you can buy my books, subscribe to Substack, or donate directly via my Venmo @alix-klingenberg

It’s happening, ya’ll - we’re gonna do it.